Internet Dating and Romance Scams

Welcome to the place to inform and educate yourself about safe internet dating

Comment by a reader

Hi. Glad to be back after a while.

I want to share with you a comment made by  a reader of the book Internet Love Deceptions (available on www.elovedeceptions.com

I have used her intial alone to protect her privacy.

Read on  

“As for the book, i found it very intriging and i could not stop reading
it…Having been scammed myself both financially and emotionally, i so
wished i had met you 4 months ago and it would have all been
prevented…The
funny thing though about my scammer is that he still writes to me
asking me
for nothing now because he is fully aware that it will get him nowhere,
he
only declares his ongoing love for me and it confuses me because i just
dont
know why after my really abusing him and calling every lowlife under
this
sun he still continues to do this…Regrdless of all that your book has
really opened my eyes and i will never fall for any trapp ever
again..So i
thank you for that…I do envy you though because i would have loved to
go
over there as you did and see all this happening first hand as you
did…I
am truly facinated by the way they work and live…
Thankyou again Alan and I believe your book will help a lot of people
see
the light…
Sincerely,

C”

I hope you learnt a thing or two from what she said .You can also help to prevent other people from being scammed by telling them about this site. You never know whom you might be saving.

regards

alan

www.elovedeceptions.com

February 27, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized

19 Comments »

  1. Hello, first of all i just wanted to say that I admire anyone who takes the time to help people be it making a website or writing a book, because we both know that the money isn’t great, the satisfaction comes from helping others.
    We have started a website: ONLINE DATING POLICE with the sole purpose of allowing scammer victims to vent. They tell their stories and others learn from their example. I was wondering if you could scan through my website and give us your official review particularly due to your expertise in this field.
    Thank you and have a great day!

    Comment by Kareem Abderazzaq | March 13, 2007 | Reply

    • PLEASE respond to this email. Too many things are the same, I met a man on Match.com this week. He said he’s on business on Lagos, Nigeria….
      right way there is something I do not trust about this man because he is already saying he wants me to be his soulmate and he wants to come visit. His name is lewis fincher…. suddenly his match.com profile disappeared. is this the person you are referring to in lagos?

      Comment by Andrea Gallivan | May 28, 2009 | Reply

      • sorry to hear all your troubles!

        Comment by farah S | July 6, 2011

  2. I met a man on Match.com. His profile listed him from Chicago, Il., 45 years of age, widower, 7 year daughter. He was working in Lagos, Nigeria as a construction engineer building a stadium. He told me he was robbed, and wanted to get home to be with his daughter. I asked him about his company, the American Embassy, and friends, no one could help him. It was around Christmas, and that is when the first payments started. He was always having problems, so I really believed him. He told me how much he loved me, sent me poems, and email cards. We talked every single day, 7 days a week, sometimes 2 and 3 times. I really thought that I was safe on MATCH.com. I had heard of all other scams, BUT NOT THIS ONE!!!! I really was convinced that this man really did love me and wanted to marry me. In January, I received a FEDEX package with 4 envelopes in it with 2 womens names and addresses. I was told to forward the envelopes to these women. I did, but I found their telephone numbers on the internet. One woman lived in Indiana, and I have talked to her, he gave her the same story he told me. I have not been able to get in touch with the woman from Hawaii. In the envelopes was $10,000 fake American Express travelers checks. When I wired the money to the man in LAGOS, I was told to not use this American man’s name, he could not get the money, he was a foreigner and it had to be his hotel manager. I followed his instructions. He was supposed to be back in the states in February, but never showed up. He had told me of a friend, the next week, I received a email from this friend telling me he was in trouble with immigration in another country. He then needed more money to pay his fine. I did not send any more money, after I had reseached on the internet to find that this man has so many other names. I have turned my information over to the FBI, INTERPOL, WESTERN UNION, the NIGERIAN AUTHORITIES, and MATCH.COM. I have found this man on MYSPACE as many different men. I have found him again on MATCH.COM as new profiles. He has been on every single dating website there is including EHARMONY!!!! I have done alot of research on the scams. I just wish that more people knew about this. I am out of my money, but the emotional scars and the fact that I have a very hard time trusting anyone is harder. I just wish they could stop these men from getting more and more money from them. They have to be stopped. The only way they can be stopped if the AMERICAN MEN AND WOMEN find out about this DATING/MYSPACE WEBSITE SCAMS. I just wish more people would find out about this.

    Thank you for listening!!!

    Susan

    Comment by Susan Sherrill | April 1, 2007 | Reply

  3. I have a similar person that is pursuing me. Can you send the pics or his name to me?

    Comment by Lenall Siebenaler | December 1, 2007 | Reply

  4. mm.. thank you

    Comment by TetaRantaduse | December 5, 2007 | Reply

  5. Online dating can be kinda cool. I think social networking sites are geared toward 20 somethings and not a more mature dater. And, there must be thousands of dating sites out on the web. I did some research and found http://www.datingsitedirect.com to be a good place to start. Many sites are just affiliate doorways to other sites. And then some are just riddled with advertising to the point where it’s almost unreadable.

    Comment by CC | February 3, 2008 | Reply

  6. I am talking to a man in lagos nigeria would his name be lewis fincher. Reading all this scamming inforamtion is really scarey, if anyone knows of such a name please contact me. I want to know.

    Comment by wendy watson | December 11, 2008 | Reply

    • Hi

      I too am talking to someone called Lewis Fincher and he asked me to send him money as his goods have been held at customs and he cant get home to Uk with his son to be with me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Its a scam and now I know for sure

      Claire

      Comment by Claire | June 11, 2009 | Reply

    • hi wendy , yes i have emailing man called lewis fincher from nigeria , also but my comment on this webpage , fell in love with.. been very interested to know if got any pics of this guy .. as i have , met him on match.com too.

      Comment by michelle | September 12, 2010 | Reply

  7. Have been in email contact with a Lewis Fincher in Nigeria.

    Not sure all is what it seems!

    Comment by Jay Smith | February 3, 2009 | Reply

  8. I’m talking to a Nicholas Luis Harry that is in Nigeria right now and needs money. His pics and passport he sent me look fake, he is no longer on match.com, its very strange. Help?

    Comment by valerie | February 4, 2009 | Reply

  9. Thanks to a Google search leading me to this article and its comments, I was forewarned. Lewis Fincher (see comment: Wendy Watson),who met me on Match.com, was also talking to me from Nigeria. When the text came asking for money, I was disappointed but not surprised, and able to give him short shrift. I hope other women read this and are similarly wary.

    Comment by Carol | February 7, 2009 | Reply

  10. Carole – Thank you so much for your comments about Lewis Fincher and his son Craid (which is probably not their real names) I have told him that I know he is a scammer, and thankfuly have heard nothing from him since.

    It has been a good life lesson for me, and I will certainly be much more wary in future. Sorry to hear that you have also been scammed by the same useless piece of crap that is aka Mr Fincher.

    Comment by Jay Smith | February 8, 2009 | Reply

  11. Your post is thought provoking and easy to digest because it’s simple and readable in nature. It give me more interest to revisit your site. Keep it coming!

    Comment by Karen Rose from Sexy Russian-Dating | May 27, 2009 | Reply

  12. Maybe Mr. L. Fincher, when he’s in a better mood, might like to help me out a bit….. since he was just SO sincere in his emails and chats with me…. I have 2 children (who I actually did birth from my very own body) raising them alone, have no job, though I keep applying, no health insurance, because I don’t qualify for Maine Care…. and soon will not be able to make ends meet. Yet I face each day with a smile on my face, thankful for all that I have in life, even if meager. …. funny he never did ask me for money 🙂 because I trusted my instincts first.

    Comment by Andrea Gallivan | June 12, 2009 | Reply

  13. I met a man on match.com called lewis fincher on 5 may 2009 and been emailing him from nigeria as he was on business trip as told me he sell computers as sales rep and helped him , saw all comments of this guy called lewis fincher … he told him that has a son called craig that lives with his mom in alaska and he is half dutch half amercian, have pics of this guy called lewis fincher he is young handsome 42 yr old man grew to fall in love with but has doubts about him. can anyone send me pic of lewis fincher pls? need see if same guy!

    michelle 10 sept 2010

    Comment by michelle | September 10, 2010 | Reply

  14. Below is actually my very own full unclothed & semi-unclothed pic series of Kate Middleton that I gathered throughout the past 12 weeks. http://d01.megashares.com/dl/3a65b23/Kate_Middleton_-_Nude_Picture_Pack_Complete_-_Real_And_Fake.rar This is actually an special mega pack for this webpage! You should not place my own links at some other websites! I really will track you down!

    Comment by kate middleton naked | April 27, 2011 | Reply

  15. Well its a pretty though business. I work for a russian dating site and trust me even the honest looking people try to abuse our system all the time. I can’t imagine how though it could be for sites like match.com or even facebook.

    Comment by Matt | October 24, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

