Internet Dating and Romance Scams

Welcome to the place to inform and educate yourself about safe internet dating

Federal agents crack down on Internet scams

Hi

Here is another item from the news about internet scams. It appears after all that something is being done to clamp down on net scams.

please read the story and leave your comments.

alan

www.elovedeceptions.com

Federal agents crack down on Internet scams

05:35 PM Mountain Standard Time on Wednesday, October 3, 2007
By Bart Treece / 3 On Your Side Producer It’s one of the biggest scams around and federal agents are finally cracking down.

This scam has gone on for so long. The biggest problem is that the scammers live overseas and the victims live right here, many of them living in Arizona.

Because of the distance, it’s a little hard to crack down on these con artists. Until now, that is.

At a news conference today, federal agents say they have had enough.

Nigerian police, with the help of federal agents, raided Internet cafes in Africa.

As it turns out, the raid is part of a global crackdown on Internet scams.

Altogether, 16 people were arrested for allegedly taking part in fake check scams that target countless Americans.

In Amsterdam, 60 people were taken into custody for doing the exact same thing.

Federal and local authorities announced the crackdown at a news conference in downtown Phoenix.

“American consumers are being defrauded by overseas scam artists,” said Pete Zegarac, a U.S. postal inspector.

The crackdown, they say, actually started by sending American agents overseas to investigate.

“In a 21-day effort alone in Nigeria, postal inspectors oversaw the seizure of 15,000 fake checks,” Zegarac said.

U.S. postal inspector Keith Moore from the Phoenix office was in Nigeria for several weeks and says he saw firsthand how good these scammers are.

“We were able to determine their equipment is first class,” Moore said.

For example, that first-class equipment produces checks that look real.

After you cash it and send some of the proceeds back to the scammer, you later find out the check is fake.

The bait is usually set when you receive an e-mail.

“Two out of three adults receive a potential scam once a week, said Sally Wells with the Maricopa County Attorney’s Office. “I have a reliable source because my mother sends them to me about once a week.”

“These scams prey on the elderly and when English is a second language,” said Ann Harwood with the U.S. Attorney’s Office in Arizona.

Victims are lured into the scam because easy money is too hard to resist.

Another example, are foreign lotteries claiming you won money. To collect, you cash the fake check and return a portion to the scammer.

“It’s easy for law enforcement to stand up here and say, ‘You won the lottery without even entering. You must be the luckiest person on earth!’” Zegarac said.

Numerous times, law enforcement warn people about these scams and now they have a new tool for you, a Web site called fakechecks.org, which is part of a multi-agency effort to keep your money out of the hands of con artists.

“There’s a lot of feeling there that Americans have a lot of money and they want to target that,” Moore said.

“People fall for it,” Zegarac said. “It’s up to us to get the word out.”

That Web site is also the place to report these scams to law enforcement so they can track down these scammers.
 

October 5, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. The problem with this African is that the EFCC people see like only words without action or sleeping with the matter. i have sent many of my mail and never seen action taken nor any words of advice

    http://419.bittenus.com/7/8/Mozart%20Chekwas%20Iwola/index.htm

    Comment by Ana | October 15, 2007 | Reply

    • mark paul still alive i met someone else online he asked me to send money to him in care of mark paul…in ingeria i did not send

      Comment by jenn tierney | July 26, 2010 | Reply

  2. Please help me. I think I been scammed. I wrote about Mark Paul to you awile ago. Well I didnt hear from you so I continue to believe Mark and I thought I was helping him to get back to the US, he said he was from Abilene TX and needed help to get home and send his goods to the US he said we were to married when he returned. So I was helping him with money I sold everything to help him the last time I sent him was 5,500.00 4 weeks ago the day he was to fly home he said he missed his flight on the same day when I was talking to him on the phone he said he was scared someone was shooting outsde his hotel room and then I heard a man yelling as the door was kicked in asking for money.When Mark said I dont have any I heard gun shots and the phone went dead. I called serveral times and finally someone answer he said he was a policeman and that he was gathering evidence and that he would find out how Mark Paul was doing. A Dr. Ben then called me and said Mark was shot in the chest and arm and needed a operation and wanted me to send 5,000.00. I ncontact the FBI at the American Embassy and they said this was a scam and not to send money. Dr Ben from Crown Royal Hospital then called me again and said I will be judge by God for if I let Mark die without the operation. I tried so hard to find out if a hospital by that name even exist. Please help me. Mark is in Nigeria somewhere near Lagos, lLekja. I been going insane since this all happen. The FBI wont help because they say its a scam. I just want to know so I can let go of the pain I feel. Thank You. Rena

    Comment by rena voight | October 16, 2007 | Reply

  3. This scenario sounds similar to the situation I found myself in, but my situation is not quite as dramatic. Dutch guy, gone to Benin with business, can’t pay the port taxes….got young daughter with him who becomes ill and then so does he….then he is attacked…then he is in a road accident…..then he cant pay hospital bill. Stupidly I havwe paid the hospital bill, but now he is saying he needs more. well I have informed him I am on to him and he is acting devastated. Sadly I am the one who is devastated as I am not well off and now owe the credit card company £1800 that I can not afford to pay….

    Comment by Lin | November 1, 2007 | Reply

  4. Lin:

    This guy is trying to scam me too. Cut off all ties with him immediately and follow the advice for reporting him posted on:

    Comment by Tania Matrone | December 4, 2007 | Reply

  5. Anyone hear of ediefortheone (IM Yahoo) or honeywellforyou@yahoo or ediefortheone@hotmail.com?

    Comment by B. Smart | August 24, 2008 | Reply

  6. To whom It May Concern:

    I am writing out of grave conern for my father who is well into a scam and has given well over 150 thousand dollars. He has exhausted his IRA along with additional loans, borrowe against his life insurance and now has requested to borrow and exhuberant amount of mone against my house.

    Please advise me how i can stop all of this from ruining my parets lives.

    I dont no where to tun and they r going to be broke before spring.

    Pamela Brown

    Comment by pamela brown | February 11, 2009 | Reply

    • Hi Pamela. I have already sent you an email on how you can deal with this situation. You have to act in time or else you might be in serious financial trouble.Hope you can deal with this in time. Please let me know how it goes.
      alan

      Comment by alanprince | March 3, 2009 | Reply

  7. mrs. lady this is indeed a scammer this guy blessing ezeh chinasa is a bad boy this is your scammers real name repot him to crime fighter in ningeria look underbrouse people she will take action God bless you

    Comment by melissa | January 9, 2010 | Reply

  8. i have been scammed by a girl in south africa,im still in contact i need somebody to point me in the right direction,to get her caught,im not forwarding anymore money,but i need advice,urgently,i have lost in excess of £20,000,i have cell numbers etc email headers,we chat on instant messenger everyday

    Comment by paul | January 10, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

