Internet Dating and Romance Scams

Welcome to the place to inform and educate yourself about safe internet dating

Talking with a scam artist

The Queens County Advance editor, Mark Roberts pretended to be interested in renting an apartment from a ‘Priest’ in Nigeria. The apartment is actually a house owned by Liverpool resident, Linda Lane.
Hi,

Regarding the ad in the paper, that’s a good price. Where is the house? Is there a number I can call?

Thank you,

Mark

My name is Rev. Kelvin King. First i would like to know the newspaper where you saw the ad? it is just a 2 bedroom house for rent, so let me know if this is what you wanted.Do you have a phone number I can call you on?

Hi,

Thanks for getting back so quick. 902-354-####. It was in The Advance and I’m interested.

Mark

Hello,

Thanks for your interest in my property. I am Rev. Kelvin King and i own the property you seek.I am on a missionary call to West Africa and thats why am looking for a responsible person that can take a very good care of it.I am not in particular about the money,all I need is a God fearing person that will see my property as his or her own.

I am willing to accept a damage deposit of $400.The rental is for long term rent because I will not be back till next two years with the new trend of event now.

Hi again,

I assume when you say animals are allowed dogs are ok.

Mark

Yes,dogs are ok.

I will be more than willing to let you move in asap because I dont want the house to remain there just like that. I need your address where the keys and the papers will be sent to via fedex for you to view the inside of the house and possibly move in immediately having deposited the damage/security deposit requested of you. My house is well furnished as you will not need any furniture while moving in. I could send the pictures of the inside to you if you demand for it as the keys are here with me in West Africa and once I get the deposit, I will immediately go to any nearest FEDEX outlet here to send the keys and the papers to you.

Here’s a brief description of the house:

Beds: 2

Baths: 1

Kitchen:1

Square ft:1028

Location: Liverpool,NS

Utilities:Cable,Air conditioning,Laundry,Dishwasher.

Looking forward to hear from you with name and address,so that i can have it in my file incase of issuing the payment receipt and lease agreement and contacting you. Please i am giving you all this base on trust and hope you do take care of my property and God bless you more as you do this.

Hi,

I would like to see the photos. Can I see the outside as well by getting the address? I need a place by the first of September if that’s okay.

Mark

The address is :## Brookdale cresent, Liverpool, NS. I actually intended selling the property, but on a second thought i decided to rent it out to a God fearing person that would take care of my property while I’m away. I trust you could do just that, judging from your words.

Please take a drive and let me know if you are still interested.Look forward to your reply tomorrow.

Also, attached are the pictures you requested for.

The peace of the Lord be with you.

Rev.Kelvin King

Hi,

It looks nice. I’m a single dad with two kids so the price is good too. Do I give the money to you or some guy reping you here?

Mark

I am yet to know how the payment will get to me but I am going to do my findings on how to get payment here and will get back to you as soon as possible.

Remain Blessed,

Rev. Kelvin King.

I have been able to find out through my office clerk that the only way to receive money as soon as possible is by Western Union Money Transfer.If this is okay by you,you can make the payment using this information:

Name: Nwosu Edwin

Location:St Peter Catholic Church,

CityCountry: Lagos Nigeria

Secret Question: Who do you believe in

Answer: God

As soon as you make this transfer you are to send to me,the Money Transfer Control Number(MTCN),a 10 digits number,sender’s name and the exact amount sent.I will also need your name,address for me to make out the lease agreement and send as earlier stated through FEDEX.Remember I am not in particular about the money,but you taking good care of the house.I will be happy if you can move in asap,as I don’t want to continue leaving the house empty.

I hope to read from you soon.

Hi,

I’m a little worried about sending my money overseas. On a tight budget and all that. How do I know this is legit? Are you a missionary and have you ever served in a church over here?

Thank,

Mark

This is legit, I am a parish priest guided by the Christian doctrine.As soon as you send the damage/security deposit i would send the lease papers and keys through FedEx and give you the tracking number to monitor the delivery progress.I served briefly in St.Gregory’s Roman Catholic Church.Let me know if you are still interested in renting the place so we could proceed.

Peace of the Lord be with you.

Rev. Kelvin King.

Father Brian Murphy confirmed he didn’t serve at the church.

August 21, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. saintkelvin38@gmail.com same name Kelvin King who listed puppies for sale in a local newspaper, the police have found it to be a scam…also on a mission in Africa…same jerk.

    Comment by Angela | October 29, 2008 | Reply

  2. Hi! my name is kevin right now i think i am talking 3 scam artist but i can not tell if i am or not, 2 of them say that they are from russia and say that she’s form london all 3 are women I even have photos of them too what do i need to do

    Comment by kevin | August 29, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

