Internet Dating and Romance Scams

Welcome to the place to inform and educate yourself about safe internet dating

NIGERIAN HACKERS STEAL CASH FROM CUMBRIAN WOMAN’S BANK ACCOUNT

By Thom Kennedy
Last updated at 13:08, Monday, 29 March 2010
A Cumbrian pensioner lost hundreds of pounds to criminals in Nigeria after they hacked into her bank account.
Phyllis Bridges is mystified as to how they it happened, as she never puts her bank details on the internet and believes her card must have been cloned in a cash machine.
She spoke out to warn others to monitor their account, she said, after she discovered she has lost more than £350.
Mrs Bridges, from Spittal Farm in Wigton, was on a shopping trip to the new Liverpool One shopping centre when she stopped at a branch of Lloyds TSB to check her balance.
She printed out a statement from the cash point, only to see that four withdrawals had been made, worth £44.32 each, from Nigeria.
By the time she got into her local branch of the bank on the Monday morning, four more similar withdrawals had been made, taking the total that she had lost to £355.85.
“I couldn’t understand it,” she said.
“I didn’t know what to do. I didn’t do any shopping in Liverpool because I was so nervous about my money. I was so shocked it made me feel ill.”
She said she was always very careful about what she did with her card.
“I shop mostly in Asda, and I use my card then, but everything else goes out by direct debit,” she added.
“I never put my details into the internet, so it is a mystery to me how this happened.
“The only thing I can think was it was when I got money out of a hole in the wall. We are told to make sure there’s nothing unusual about the machines, but how do you know what is unusual?”
She got in touch with her bank as soon as possible and the matter is being investigated.
A police spokesman said anyone worried about fraud could get advice on how to protect themselves from the Cumbria police website – http://www.cumbria.police.uk. The national fraud hotline is 0300 123 2040.

By Thom Kennedy
Last updated at 13:08, Monday, 29 March 2010A Cumbrian pensioner lost hundreds of pounds to criminals in Nigeria after they hacked into her bank account.
Phyllis Bridges is mystified as to how they it happened, as she never puts her bank details on the internet and believes her card must have been cloned in a cash machine.
She spoke out to warn others to monitor their account, she said, after she discovered she has lost more than £350.
Mrs Bridges, from Spittal Farm in Wigton, was on a shopping trip to the new Liverpool One shopping centre when she stopped at a branch of Lloyds TSB to check her balance.
She printed out a statement from the cash point, only to see that four withdrawals had been made, worth £44.32 each, from Nigeria.
By the time she got into her local branch of the bank on the Monday morning, four more similar withdrawals had been made, taking the total that she had lost to £355.85.
“I couldn’t understand it,” she said.
“I didn’t know what to do. I didn’t do any shopping in Liverpool because I was so nervous about my money. I was so shocked it made me feel ill.”
She said she was always very careful about what she did with her card.
“I shop mostly in Asda, and I use my card then, but everything else goes out by direct debit,” she added.
“I never put my details into the internet, so it is a mystery to me how this happened.
“The only thing I can think was it was when I got money out of a hole in the wall. We are told to make sure there’s nothing unusual about the machines, but how do you know what is unusual?”
She got in touch with her bank as soon as possible and the matter is being investigated.
A police spokesman said anyone worried about fraud could get advice on how to protect themselves from the Cumbria police website – http://www.cumbria.police.uk. The national fraud hotline is 0300 123 2040.

April 16, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

