Internet Dating and Romance Scams

Welcome to the place to inform and educate yourself about safe internet dating

Scammers target Rio Rancho woman with disturbing details

By: Eddie Garcia, KOB Eyewitness News 4
A Rio Rancho woman gets an outrageous call from scammers who get down-right abusive.

KOB Eyewitness News 4 got its hands on a recording of the call that got so bad we had to bleep out some of the language.

“Hello may I speak to Kathleen?” asked the scammer.

“Yes, this is she who is this?” replied Kathleen Quintana

From the very beginning, Kathleen Quintana knew she was talking to a criminal.

“They said they were lawyers with the United Nations legal department,” said Quintana.

They claimed she missed a payment on a loan she recently took out from a bank – despite the absurdity of the ill concealed scam – she started to become concerned.

“They already knew a lot of information about me, they knew my social…They called my boyfriend’s phone number and they even called my daughter’s phone number,” Quintana continued.

When Kathleen started to ask questions it got ugly in a hurry.

“You (expletive) if you want to resolve this matter…” said the scammer.

“Did you call me a (expletive)? Did you just call me a (expletive)?” asked Quintana.

The scammers became more vulgar and said she was going to jail and that they were going to rape her behind prison walls – they even asked her if she was for sale for marriage.

That’s when Kathleen’s friend Rebecca stepped in.

“Me, I’m more the bold one, I’m the more upfront one and when these guys decided they were going to get pushy with me I got pushy back,” said Brown.

She spoke to the man and threatened him with legal action – soon enough Kathleen became emboldened to stand up for herself and her family.

“You we’re supposed to make a payment on that loan,” said the scammer.

“Yeah you guys told me I owed money on a loan and I looked you guys up and its a scam I don’t owe you anything,” Quintana replied.

KOB Eyewitness News 4 contacted the state Attorney General’s office who hadn’t heard about this particular incident.

But they did say it sounds similar to a Nigerian scam which can often have a lot of information about their victims.

December 24, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

