Internet Dating and Romance Scams

Welcome to the place to inform and educate yourself about safe internet dating

Online fraud: Top Nigerian scammer arrested

A Nigerian behind thousands of online scams around the world has been arrested in the southern oil city of Port Harcourt, Interpol alleges.

The 40-year-old man, known only as “Mike” is alleged to head a network of 40 individuals behind global scams worth more than $60m (£45m).

His operations involved using malware to take over systems to compromise emails, as well as romance scams.

Nigeria’s anti-fraud agency was also involved in the arrest.

Africa Live: More on this and other stories

“In one case, a target was conned into paying out $15.4 m (£11m),” Interpol said in a statement.

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-africa-36939751

December 13, 2016 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. It has been almost 5 years since I was taken in online by a cunning man by the name of Mike, not sure if it was the same person you’re referring to in this article. I do still have the picture he sent of he and his sons. I sent him thousands of dollars, I have receipts for most. I have never discussed this with anyone, due to embarrassment of my own stupidity. I’m a fairly intelligent and street wise common sense sort of gal but I fell hook line and sinker. I have remained alone since this happened. I meet Mike on one of the dating sites. I believe the dating sites to all be rackets for the most part, and find people equally as dishonest in their representation of themselves. I don’t revisit this situation often and in fact only in my mind occasionally and of course privately.
    I’ve moved beyond once I recovered financially and thank my lucky stars I was able to do so.

    Comment by Susan | December 13, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

